top of page
  • anaishaldin

Search for freedom: A TRIP TO SENEGAL


Travelling has always felt like a second nature to me and I think that it’s like this for a lot of people. The need to discover new places, countries, cultures is so important in ones life. It also helps in discovering who you want to be, who you are.

Traveling to Senegal in particular, was, for me, a way to get closer to my family, to know my origins and it’s always such a great experience. Every time I go there it's like I discoure something new, it's so exiting.




During one summer, I visited the country with my little brother. We had such a great time there. If you ever hesitate in going to Senegal, don't. This country is absolutely incredible and it has such an interesting history, there is so much to learn.


One day, a family member decided to take us to a book store and told us to choose whatever and I stumbled across Tarendol by René Barjavel and thought I had to read it. This book inspired me: It's about a young couple during war time in France and their struggle to get back to each other, and I don't know but I needed to learn more about them. René Barjavel is an amazing author and Tarendol is one of his only romance novel.


Then, a few days later we left the city, my brothers and I and went to visit the Island of Gorée. This Island is sadly known for being the last African stop for slaves, before they were shipped to America. When you go there, you can see every places where the slaves were kept, waiting. It's truly an incredible experience.


I had my book with me and I remember how it felt, like I has witnessing two wars unfold before my eyes. When you walk through the streets, visit the cells where the slaves were held, it’s a very intense feeling yet it’s so important to realise it. As in Tarendol, you witness how hard life was, how desperate people were for freedom. I think that this search for freedom is what made me associate these so much.


This travel really connected these two very diferent times for me and I hope that, if one day you try and visit the country, you’ll make a stop in Gorée and maybe you'll be able to see it in a diferent light.




11 vues2 commentaires

Posts récents

Voir tout
bottom of page